Crazy looking for leak

Users who are viewing this thread

arrowhead

Reaction score
Hello to all:

I am new to this. Desperate for help. Just got water bill for $144.00, three times the norm for this time of year.

Two things happened before jump in water bill:

1) New timer box installed for 6 station drip system which many years ago had sprinkler heads and was changed to drip system since grass removed. Desert landscaping.

2) New meter was installed by utility company.

Got the elevated water bill. Called plumber to try to determine if there was a leak between the meter and the water line to the house. All good on that account. Plumber then found irrigation valve and saw that if that valve is open, meter spins around like crazy. Temporarily put a manual shut-off valve on so we could manually put on our watering system and only have the meter running excessively while this is on.

We then got some people to dig and found pipes going from main irrigation valve to valve boxes and there is no leak. Walked the yard, no leak. Sandy soil would have revealed sinking, leak etc.

We have spent over $500.00 so far, and still have the problem. We want to know simplest and cheapest way to solve it. Can't be opening and closing the valve every 2 days, especially since we travel often. Can we put a timer on the irrigation valve and hook that up to our timer box so it will come on only when we want to water ?

We have checked all valves and valve boxes, no leaking. Public utilities came out and said it's our problem. We asked them to replace meter (because timing of change-out and triple increase in water use was more than coincidential. No luck. Sorry this is so long. Any suggestions?

Kiril

Reaction score
Check each valve running at the curb stop (meter). Identify if it is just an isolated valve or all the valves that are causing the meter to run fast. All the valves would suggest a problem upstream of the valve manifold, isolated valve would suggest a problem downstream.