(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: What Fuses?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default What Fuses?

    Hello All,

    Can anyone tell by this photo what are the right fuses to use? I have one missing, and one isn't working (even though it noe of the remaining three look burned). Any insight would be appreciated

    TIA,
    Molo
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2

    Default

    Molo, why not maybe take one out and take it to the store with you, and do what I do, I ask or buy an assortment trying them all.
    Last edited by Cookie; 07-01-2007 at 11:19 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    The fuses protect the wire.

    Your lighting and general outlets are probably 14 gauge and need 15 amp fuses.

    If you have a 12 gauge circuit for the kitchen it can be a 20 amp fuse.

    The bigger fuses in the pullouts (range and main) will likely be 50 amps (#8 wire to a panel inside and the range).

    You have to know the wire size to determine the proper fuse size.

    PS. Nice burn mark on the panel cover. Was that you?

  4. #4
    Electrician frenchelectrican's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NE Wis / Paris France { In France now }
    Posts
    46

    Default

    the fuses you have on the box that is the time delay fuse and they come in specal socket size and if i rember it correctally the missing fuse on bottom left that is good for 20 amp fuse but i can see some damage to the adpator.

    but really my suggest that get 15 or 20 amp fuse but really IMO i think it will be wise to get the electrician to come in and look at your fuse box and i am sure they will suggest to upgrading the fuse box becasue the box you have now is pretty old and there is not too many electrician do carry specal tool to remove the damaged adpator and put new one in.

    and the 60 amp fuse box is pretty much " history " by today codes because over the years the codes and wiring do update over the time and have more circuit than it was used to be in old days.

    the other thing i will give you a head up with older fuse box some case you will run into old oddball wiring in there what we called " tube and knob " alot of older homes still using it [ it is safe as long it is NOT overloaded and not add new circuit to the K&T ]

    to change over the fuse box to breaker box is genrally not a DIY project it have quite few rules to dealt with it so have a estame from at least 3 electrician to give you the price to upgrading this box

    if have more question please do post it here

    Merci , Marc

  5. #5
    Plumber Cass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectrician

    PS. Nice burn mark on the panel cover. Was that you?
    Looks like someone ruined some test leads.

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cass
    Looks like someone ruined some test leads.
    The burn mark wasnt' me. That particular fuse did blow the other day when a house fan had a knicked wire that shorted. Could that cause the problem?
    I will look at the wire to determine fuse size.

    TIA,
    Molo

  7. #7
    Plumber Cass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    Yes the nicked wire can cause a short and the fuse should blow doing its job.

  8. #8
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,624

    Default adapter

    The adapter should have markings inside it as the the fuse range it will handle. If you get the wrong Fusetron it will not screw into the adapter.

  9. #9
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molo
    Hello All,

    Can anyone tell by this photo what are the right fuses to use? I have one missing, and one isn't working (even though it noe of the remaining three look burned). Any insight would be appreciated

    TIA,
    Molo
    If one of the screw-in fuse circuits doesn't work it may be that the main is blown. Pull out that main plug (the one on the left) and check each of the fuses with an Ohmmeter.

  10. #10
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,624

    Default fuse

    Those fuses only come in time delay style.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •