Multi-Shower Heads ?

Users who are viewing this thread

Statjunk

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

In my master bath I'm going to be rebuilding the shower and I'd like to install a mulit shower head. Two shower heads front and back and one head that will rain down.

I've never done this before and I've got some questions.

What is the best way to do this. Do I cut the water line going up to the 1st shower head and just run it around the wall to additional valves or do I need to get a special master valve with special 2nd and 3rd valves?

Is this installation style recommended for a shower of my size? It is about 6-7' x 4-5'.

Thanks

Tom

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
There's more than one way to do this, but people often put in a 2, 3 or whatever way divertor valve. To ensure proper flow, heads that are on simultaneously generally need to be connected in a loop configuration. The instructions for multi-head systems usually show this. basically, if you just use T's, you probably won't be satisfied as the flow will get less the further from the source you go. A loop evens that out.

Keep in mind that not all valves can supply enough volume for multiple heads. Also, if you supply lines aren't 3/4", you might not be satisfied. A showerhead is limited to 2.5gpm in the USA. Not all heads flow that, some things like body sprays may not be designed for that flow. You need to identify the heads you want, their flow characteristics, and add up the total you want running to pick a valve that will work with it. If you incoming water pressure isn't that great, you may not be satisfied, either. Most showerheads are rated at 60# input pressure; lower pressure=lower volume, less force.