(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Dryer wiring = no heat.

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default Dryer wiring = no heat.

    Did a search for this, but didn't find anything. Sorry if I missed something.

    Recently bought a house that was built in 1958. My father and I ran a wire to the basement for a new dryer that is replacing the gas fired one that was there previously.

    Added a 30amp double pole breaker, and wired up a 4 wire outlet in the basement. The voltage meter reads 120 coming out of both sides of the outlet. Dryer was delivered wired for a 4 prong outlet.

    Dryer spins, but no heat at all. Checked out all of the wiring, and it is all correct. (compared it to my father's at his house). Thought it might be the max amps of the box, but we tripped everything but the dryer breaker and still no heat.

    Thought maybe it was the breaker, but we attached the wires to another 220volt breaker that feeds the oven, and still no heat.

    I'm 99% positive it isn't the dryer, as this is the second one we have had. The first made loud clicking noises as well as not producing heat, so we had it replaced.

    The only thing I am not 100% sure about is where the ground and the common wire hook into. I have them both going into the neutral bar in the box. My dad doesn't seem to think this makes a difference.

    Anybody have any insight? Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    The dryer will only need 120 volts to spin but will require 240 volts to heat.

    You said you check the voltage to ground from both legs and had 120.

    Check between the two legs and see if you have 240

  3. #3
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Usually a double pole breaker will automatically pick up opposite legs , but as mentioned you do need to check and see if you have 240 BETWEEN the two hots, because it sounds like you do not.

  4. #4

    Default

    Unfortunately I am still at work, but I will check that out when I get home.

    I had another question, but it will depend on what I find when I get home, so I'll save it.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member Pewterpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    262

    Default

    A friend of my daughter's has the exact same problem. I'm curious how this turned out. I also have my own questions about it, but unfortunately, there's not much to "search" through here anymore.

  6. #6
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MuckSavage
    Unfortunately I am still at work, but I will check that out when I get home.

    I had another question, but it will depend on what I find when I get home, so I'll save it.
    16 days and he ain't home yet?????????

    Quote Originally Posted by Pewterpower
    A friend of my daughter's has the exact same problem. I'm curious how this turned out. I also have my own questions about it, but unfortunately, there's not much to "search" through here anymore.
    Fire away and let us see what we can come up with. I will help all I can.

  7. #7
    DIY Senior Member Pewterpower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    262

    Default

    It was actuall a rather quick fix. There was only 110 coming out of one leg, the other was dead. He went to the panel and found a wire loose and tightened it down. Now there is 240 at the outlet and all is well. If only everything else was that simple.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •