Epoxy painting for tub?

Users who are viewing this thread

lumina

Reaction score
We have a pink bathtub (metal, porcelain coated) w/ a surround (plastic). There are cracks in the surround. We are going to try to replace them, but we're complete novices. So, we thought we would paint the tub (bought Klenks refinishing kit) and replace the surround - we don't really know how to replace the tub.

This is the only shower/bath in the house. So, we wanted a speedy recovery time. The epoxy paint takes 5-7 days to cure/dry (plus the caulking drying time). Also, at about.com it was NOT recommended (though the guy had NEVER done it or seen it done).

Has anyone done this type of painting/refinishing before, or seen it done, and does it look good, ok, or sloppy?

Lumina
~stressing out in Washington

Smhowell

Reaction score
A friend at work is an investor/remodeler and he often uses epoxy paint to refinish tubs. Unlike the sales pitch that I got from a guy who wanted me to spend the same money as new getting a resurface, it lasts 5 to 10 years, if you apply it properly, then treat it gently. It looks ok brushed on, a little better if sprayed, but never as good as a new tub.

Regards,
Sharon

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
Tub Refinish

I think, for something like $100-150, you can get a company to come out and spray it. The sort of "paint" you need to use is extremely toxic, so make sure you have a full respirator if you are doing this yourself.

You should probably replace the tub surround first, so you don't mess up the new finish on the tub.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com
reglazeing the tub as cheap as possible

you can get your tub re-glazed for about $350.00

you can put up your own tub shrround for about $150...

re-glazeing lasts about 3-5 years.....depending on how rough

you are to it....