Help! AC Stops Blowing Thru Vents?

Users who are viewing this thread

BDP

Reaction score
I've got a problem with my home's air conditioning unit that I was hoping I could get some suggestions on, regarding where to start. I'm a rookie at this but did manage to replace my inducer blower when the heat died over the winter.

What's happening now is I turned on the AC for the first time this season. Both outdoor blower and indoor unit fan seem to be running fine. I got cool air out of the vents, but in a few hours, the airflow through the house vents just stopped. Downstairs, I could still feel cooled air seeping out through the edges of the ducts at the unit itself, it's just as if the fan is being blocked from passing air from the main unit up into the house somehow.

The next day, I turned just the fan on without any heat or ac, and the fan blew air through the vents all day. I also tried heat with similar results. The ducts only eventually seem to stop blowing air when I turn on the AC (after a few hours).

The cooling in general, when the air WAS blowing, seemed a bit inefficient, slower than past years.

Does anyone have any ideas where I can start here? I am a rookie DIY'er but a good student. Of course, if this is an advanced issue that I will need to call in a repair for, let me know that as well. I am worried there may be a freon leak that is somehow blocking an air vent/line as the AC cools down.

Thanks for any assistance.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score