Washer box & sink question

Users who are viewing this thread

builder59

Reaction score
I am new to plumbing and I want to first say that I live in a small town and am trying to get a plumber to come out but timing is not working out for our schedule. I am quite versed in commercial building and electrical but never dabbled in plumbing. Well time to get dirty!!.
I am installing a washer box in an area with only a couple of inches below the floor joists. There is a drain that I can access in the floor joists if I do the following.
1. I installed the washer box about 42" above the main floor, then installed a 2" drain and a trap 8" below the box.
2. I then took it to the left on a slant where I want to pick up the sink. I have installed a sanitary t with the bottom going to the drain and the top going to the vent.
3. My question is can I tap into the drain coming down with a sanitary t to pick up the trap for my sink. I'm not sure on the codes for a trap below the washer box and I'm not sure if I will get suds in my sink. I will be tapping in 12" below the horizontal drain from the washer box for the sink and then continuing down to my drain to the sewer.
Thanks for anyones help.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
I think the stand pipe needs to be taller before the trap...but wait for a pro.

Geniescience

Homeowner
Reaction score
builder59 said:
... I then took it to the left on a slant where I want to ...