(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Installing indicator light to show pump working

  1. #1

    Default Installing indicator light to show pump working

    Hi,

    I have a 2 story house where the top floor consists of two leased apartments. There is one rooftop electrical pump serving the whole building. Problem is, there are sometimes leaks in toilets or elsewhere that keep the pump running continuously and shortens its service life.

    The pump is already connected to an on-off switch downstairs, but I would like to install an indicator light connected to it to show me when the pump is working or not. I already have the indicator light (taken from an old water heater), so can someone tell me how to connect it to the switch I mentioned above? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,602

    Default light

    If you wire it to the switch, all it will tell you is that the switch is turned on or off. In order to tell you if the pump is running you have to wire it into the circuit to the pump itself. How you would do that depends on how it is connected now.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member Bob1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    110

    Default hi

    I assume that the pump has a pressure switch for the automation , if yes then connect this pilot lamp to the 2 wires which are going out from that pressure switch to the pump
    The idea is when the pressure switch kiks in then it connects the electricity to the pump and to the indicator lamp in the same time so it will show you that the pump is connected and obviously running

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys!. Its a 220v pressure switch pump (no air tank). And yes I found if I connect the light to the on-off switch it will only tell me if the switch is on-off

    OK Bob1000, it would be quite a run for the wires from the pump to downsatirs (probably around 50ft+), wont that cause some form of resistance where the light may not work?

    Pls excuse me fellows, total amateur here I am.

  5. #5
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    What kind of switch are we talking about? A pressure switch like we use with a tank or just a toggle switch that turns this pump on or off period?

    bob...

  6. #6

    Default

    The pump has an automatic (electrical) pressure switch on it, the other switch I installed downstairs to turn the pump on/off.

  7. #7
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    This motor must get pretty good workout cycling on and off without a tank or CSV of some kind. The light bulb would too.

    bob...

  8. #8

  9. #9
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    http://www.davey.com.au/files/D987a%...%20on%20XJ.pdf

    It looks like you have a pump with a "Smart CSV" that works a lot like someone has suggested on other threads.

    The system already has indicating lights as part of the "Torrium" flow control system. They are low voltage Light Emitting Diodes.

    Your choices would be to run a high voltage line from the pump power to a pilot light where you want it, or use a transformer and run a low voltage light, or run a package of low voltage wires using a Cat 5 cable from the diode circuits to another set of diodes where you can see them. I would do the latter, but you may not have the tools and knowledge to do that.

    My second choice would be the transformer/pilot light to avoid having to string line-voltage wires through the place.

    I am having a hard time imagining why you have the pump on the roof, unless you have a cistern/supply on the roof, which is an unusual installation in the US. Where are you located?

    If I owned a system like yours, I would probably keep a spare unless the dealer is immediately available. I can't imagine that you could call your local plumber to get that Torrium controller fixed.

    I once looked at a Davey pump for a system that needed a low starting current motor. I decided that the non-US fittings and other unique features made it a bad choice to put in a system in the Maine wilderness.

  10. #10

    Default

    I'm in the Middle-east and I have a water tank on the roof. The problem (feature?) of this pump is that its always on with even minimal usage of water (i.e. small leak). The dealer has a good supply of spare parts but you're on your own as far as support goes. The idea of the indicator light is that if its always on, then I can call the tennants upstairs and tell them they may have a leak.

  11. #11

    Default

    You could tell if your smart pump is running by using a clamp on [ or wire-in] ammeter at the power out wire from the switch. Might look a bit odd if its on the living room wall however.

    Otherwise you could rig a low voltage wire from the attic, but that seems like a lot of trouble.

    I used to see plug in ammeters for monitoring appliance power use that might have acceptable aesthetics for the home, had a little led readout.

    How long in service, how good is this pump in your opinion?

  12. #12

    Default

    Well, its a hideous thought but I have to agree. When the pump burns up get the standard set up and forget an ammeter. Use a big tank or take the power bite and use the sacred CSV

  13. #13
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    I wonder when the people that make those Chinese pumps are going to figure a way to make the entire motor out of plastic?

  14. #14
    In the Trades Bob NH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,307

    Default

    From what I read about the control system, I think you might be well served by installing a small bladder tank on the system. That would reduce the cycling and save some electricity.

    I noticed that the jet and venturi of your pump are made of acetal resin (Usual trade name is Delrin). That can be a problem if there is any disinfectant (chlorine) in the water, as there should be in a large tank where water is stored. Without disinfectant, algae and other things will grow in the tank, but with chlorine disinfectant, the acetal parts will fail.

    Failure of acetal fittings was a big factor in the lawsuits related to polybutylene pipe.

  15. #15
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    I didn't know that Bob, that's good info. So that's what made all the people in Sun City, Fl. get new free plumbing. I always knew those Davey pumps were a little on the junkie side, but they just got junkier. And they are pushing them as booster pumps on chlorinated city water systems. How nice!

    bob...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •