(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: damaging new equipment???

  1. #1
    hardwood flooring contractor fast pasquale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cleveland, ohio
    Posts
    52

    Default damaging new equipment???

    new hp fax/scanner/printer/copier is on the way. Im thinking about setting it up with my old (6yr) computer that is probally full of viruses and is slow as heck.. My ? is could i do any damage to my new all in one device from hp if i connect it to my old shabby computer???

  2. #2
    In the Trades brownizs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Connecting the printer to the old computer is not going to do anything. The best thing to do for the older computer, is attempt to clense it of any viri before connecting the new one up to it, to transfer any files. You may want to visit http://forums.majorgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35 for more info on how to clean a viri ridden machine of the nastys.

  3. #3
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default all in one

    You do not transfer any files to the new equipment when you connect it. All that is sent to it is the data to be printed. But, the efficiency of the machine may be affected by the slowness of the computer.

  4. #4
    DIY Member zimmee66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    43

    Default No worries...

    your new MFC should be fine. no damage. But I'm willing to bet you'll have trouble installling supporting software and print drivers. Save yourself grief and clean your PC *before* you install anything that comes iwth the printer.

    For a free, thorough, legit virus online scan try:

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com

    and to get rid of spyware and such try "AdAware" and "SpyBot Search And Destroy" (check google).

    All are free...

  5. #5
    In the Trades brownizs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Springfield, IL
    Posts
    196

    Default

    zimmee66 The link I posted to Majorgeeks will explain everything. Suggesting to google fixes, will just point a person to illegitimate sites.

  6. #6
    Plumbing Designer FloridaOrange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    1,317

    Default

    You could also look into hooking your new device directly to the network.
    Matt
    Semi-professional plumbing designer
    Enjoying life in SW Florida

  7. #7
    DIY Member zimmee66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brownizs
    zimmee66 The link I posted to Majorgeeks will explain everything. Suggesting to google fixes, will just point a person to illegitimate sites.
    Well, not necessarily--Adaware shows up as the first hit on google and Spybots official site is too. Trendmicro is of course a direct link.

    Your point is well taken though--for an inexperienced user it is best to start with a reputable SW site. Or, I should have typed URLS for the apps.
    Last edited by zimmee66; 02-25-2007 at 08:39 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •