Commercial hot water system help

Users who are viewing this thread

perrycat

Reaction score
I'm a maintenance tech for a property that has aprox. 1000 units, 3 seperate boiler plants, and it's built in the early 70's. I have constant service calls for water temperature fluctuation mainly in showers, the faucets never seem to get a complaint. This problem also seems to be happening at all 3 sections of the property, each section has a boiler plant for heat and cooling and domestic hot water.

All the units have the same tub and shower valve, they're Price Pfister with integral stops on each one ( half the time the stops don't work anyway) and they're washer type valves.

People as of late have been allowed to put in their own laundry washers and dryers, so maybe half to three quarters of the units have a washer dryer now, and when it was built they all had a laundry room with pay washers and dryers ( those are still there BTW)

I went to one building and on a hunch, used a gauge to check the water pressure from one of the laundry machines in the laundry room. The hot was 115 PSI ( I know that's super high I guess.....thermal expansion maybe?? most people were at work at that time) But the cold water was maybe 55 PSI.

So, question to you if you could give er a shot, is it possible that the water is "fighting" each other whenever anybody opens up the shower valve? I read something about a check valve that you put on the recirc line, and we don't have any on any of them that I've seen. Where would you locate that anyway? in the boiler plant right after the recirc pump?

Also, I've had this maybe hair brained idea that it could be because the washers in the valves are all so old, integral stops included, that maybe somehow the washers are like flipping back and forth somehow inside the shower valves, and somehow stopping the flow a little and then flipping back and the flow gets stronger again....is that possible?