Kitchen sink plumbing question

Users who are viewing this thread

mf915

Reaction score
Hi,
Everything is PVC. Here is the current setup. The drain pipe coming out of the wall is 2 1/2". Then a reducer coupling to a 2" pipe. Then a 2" J-bend, and finally an adapter that connects the 1 1/2" tail piece.

I'm about to install a new double-bowl sink. I got two 1 1/2" tail pieces, a center outlet kit (1 1/2"), a p-trap kit (1 1/2").

Because of spacing issue, I don't think I can use any part of the 2" pipe. I'll need to connect the 1 1/2" wall tube (from the p-trap kit) directly to the 2 1/2" pipe.

Questions:
1) is there any problem to go from 1 1/2" (p-trap kit) to 2 1/2" ??
2) Are there slip-joint adapter out there ? will I need some kind of reducer coupling before the slip-joint ?

3) i have a dishwasher and air trap. Is it okay to use clear vinyl tubing (5/8") between air trap and the tailpiece ? Is this material strong enough ?

Please be specific what parts I need... I'm a newbie :)

thanks !!!

Last edited:

Randyj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
You can cut the 2 1/2" back to just enough to get a 2" coupler on, insert a 1 1 1/2" x 2 1/2" bushing then insert a male trap adapter into it...then the p-trap. Size it up to make sure you have the proper distance before you start cutting so you will know where to cut.

mf915

Reaction score
Thanks Randy.

One more question I forgot to ask

4) because the bowl is 9" deep. I have to shorten the two tailpieces in the attempt to get the center outlet piece slightly higher than the wall pipe going into the wall. Is there any minimum requirement on a) the length of the tailpiece b) how much center outlet is above the wall pipe

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
pipe