(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Pumptrol problem

Hybrid View

Default Pumptrol problem

Ok, first off... I'm just learning about my well. My experience with my well is that I've replaced my pressure tank. That's it.

Now for the first problem. I have a 120 gallon pressure tank with gauge, a pumptrol sitting on top of a brass check valve that reads Flowmatic, and an air valve threaded into the brass check valve. Ok, I noticed awhile back that when the pump kicks on there a large trickle of water that comes from that air valve. Then when the pump turns off I hear an air sucktion that lasts for awhile. Is this normal? Or does it need replacement?

Second problem, started yesterday. I noticed the water pressure was low...extremely low. Walked out to the well and the tank was sitting at about 15psi. Took off the pumptrol cover and bumped the connection with the cover. Pump kicked on and pressure went back up to 60psi. This morning same thing. Low pressure. Bumped the connection and all was well. I ran the water in the house to see what happened and it went down down down...
    But I walked out to the well and the pump was charging the tank.
    The well is around 11 years old and the only thing that's been replaced is the tank. What do I need to do?? Where can I get parts for this??

-DD

Rancher

Quote Originally Posted by ddeblance
    Now for the first problem. I have a 120 gallon pressure tank with gauge, a pumptrol sitting on top of a brass check valve that reads Flowmatic, and an air valve threaded into the brass check valve. Ok, I noticed awhile back that when the pump kicks on there a large trickle of water that comes from that air valve. Then when the pump turns off I hear an air sucktion that lasts for awhile. Is this normal? Or does it need replacement?