Fitting copper tubing

Users who are viewing this thread

Riosman

Reaction score
I am a newbie and have been fitting the copper tubes with elbows and t's by using the emory cloth method. I clean up with wirebrush bristle to polish, smooth. The problem is it takes too long to fit the joints together. In some cases if too tight the fitting never comes apart. I think professionals must be doing it differently rather than using the emory cloth method. Looking for a more automated method perhaps some attachment for cordless drill to make the job easier.

Thanks
Riosman

Randyj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
You don't want to do that. If the fittings are too tight they may have "egged-out" by being hit or stepped on. You can use a coarser cloth or sand paper. When possible I just hold the emory cloth on the end of the pipe while I roll it across the top of my thigh with the other hand. For fittings I use a brush made for that size of pipe. Battery post terminal cleaners do fine on 1/2" copper... and are usually cheaper than the combo brushes sold in plumbing departments. I've had problems keeping the fittings on after greasing up with soldering paste/flux.

Riosman

Reaction score
I'm just about done with running the water lines for a new kitchen. I used 7 3/4 x10' tubes. All had the same issues. The 1/2 tube is more of a problem. I tried the ez sweat fittings and found them to be more trouble fitting onto the tube.
I was surprized at the time used to fit the tube and fittings. The sweating to the tube was easy. No leaks
I was hoping there was something I was missing to help speed up the process.

TedL

Reaction score