(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Can I use two controllers in one system

  1. #1

    Default Can I use two controllers in one system

    Hi All

    I installed a pipe from my sprinkler system to add water to the pool. My problem is I have to turn on the main sprinkler valve by hand to get water to the pool because I don't have any zones left on the present 10 zone controller. I'm thinking of just adding a second controller by the pool to turn on the main valve, but wondered it the controllers could damage each other when one is turned on.

    Thanks for any help and ideas.

    Beary

  2. #2
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    Yes you can use two controllers. Just make sure you do not cross the phases. As long as you don't cross the phases either or both controllers will turn on the pump and open the master valve. You could also set it up with a pressure tank and pressure switch to start the pump, then your controller only needs to open the sprinkler valves and the pump comes on automatically when the tank is empty.

  3. #3
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,615

    Default controllers

    You can use as many as you wish to, since each will be its own little system without any connection to the others, as long as you run separate wires to the added valve and don't try to connect it into the existing wiring.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hj
    You can use as many as you wish to, since each will be its own little system without any connection to the others, as long as you run separate wires to the added valve and don't try to connect it into the existing wiring.
    This is the problem. I'm not adding a valve, I just want to activate the main valve on the old system so I can get water to my faucet. As it is right now, the faucet is 200 feet away from the main valve. The only way I can use the faucet right now is walk 200 ft. and open it manually.

    In a sense, I am adding zone with an addition controller. But how can I wire the new controller into the main valve without connecting to the existing wiring already at the main valve? I am sure there is a way to do it because I've heard of several controllers being used in some complexes.

    I would even be open to the idea of a switch at the faucet that all I have to do it turn on and off to open the main valve.

    Thanks again for your replies.

    Beary

  5. #5
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    OK I am a little confused. If all you have to do is open the master valve then you do not have a pump? In that case all you need is a 24 volt transformer (if that is the correct voltage for the solenoid on the master valve), run a wire close to the faucet and through a light switch, then back to the master valve. This will power up the master valve from the little transformer any time you turn on the light switch.

  6. #6

    Default

    Thank you Valveman, that was the imformation I needed. I am not good with low voltage electronics and I wasn't sure if I could do that with another controller in the system, and I wasn't sure is most valves use the same voltage. Now I'm kind of excited to try your suggestion out.

    First I just want to get the switch to work so I can get water to the faucet, but I eventally want to build an automatic filler device that adds water when a when the pool water gets to low. My thinking is use a float connected to the switch. When the float falls to a level I want the water to come on, it triggers the switch to on.

    I also want to add a sprinkler controller so that I can water the new flower bed my wife put in near this faucet. I want to say this was the hard part, but actually digging the 100 foot trench in the hard rocky Oklahoma red clay in the 105 degree weather to lay the water line was the hard part.

    Thanks again.

    Beary

  7. #7
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,615

    Default switch

    Just put a wire from the 24 volt HOT, (not white common), terminal where the transformer is connected to the circuit board. Then mount a toggle switch in the case or elsewhere. Run the wire from the above terminal through the switch and then to the main valve's terminal. You will not have to worry about polarity or backfeeding it doing it this way.

  8. #8
    Rancher
    Guest

    Default

    I'll have to check my controllers, but I think that from the 24 volt transformer (AC) that both wires are black.

    Rancher

  9. #9
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    I'm confused. If you put this pipe in without another valve, and it is obviously after the main solonoid, what keeps it from trying to fill the pool when the sprinklers are on?

    bob...

  10. #10
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    Going to need a hose bibb or faucet.

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedbump
    I'm confused. If you put this pipe in without another valve, and it is obviously after the main solonoid, what keeps it from trying to fill the pool when the sprinklers are on?

    bob...
    I have a faucet with one of those garden valve timers on it. Presently what I do is turn of the faucet, set the timer to one hour, then walk about 200 ft to turn on the main valve by hand. The timer prevents the pool from over filling incase I get caught up in a game or something. Sometime after an hour, I walk out and turn off the main valve by hand, walk 200 ft. to the faucet to turn it off.

    When I installed the faucet, I stubbed out another pipe that I plan to use for the pool when I get electricity to the equipment. Then I can add a sprinkler valve and not have to go to the equipment to set the timer.

    Beary

  12. #12
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    I'm still confused. It seems like this could be done in a much easier way. Can you draw a diagram of this, so we can see what your doing?

    It would seem you have a tank and pressure switch, but I'm not sure. If this is the case, you can tee off in front of the main valve and make the pool circuit totally independent of the sprinkler system.

    bob...

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedbump
    I'm still confused. It seems like this could be done in a much easier way. Can you draw a diagram of this, so we can see what your doing?

    It would seem you have a tank and pressure switch, but I'm not sure. If this is the case, you can tee off in front of the main valve and make the pool circuit totally independent of the sprinkler system.

    bob...
    No tank or pressure switch. All my water pressure comes from the city.

  14. #14
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverview, Fl.
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    OK then, tap into the water line before the main sprinkler valve and use whatever means of turning it on you like. It will be independant of the sprinkler system.

    bob...

  15. #15
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    "OK then, tap into the water line before the main sprinkler valve and use whatever means of turning it on you like."

    Duh!!! That makes it easy. As usual, we have been thinking too hard.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •