How do you remove Moen Shower Faucet

Users who are viewing this thread

saubouin

Reaction score
Here is the problem: When turning the knob on the shower faucet the water no longer comes on. However, if you remove the faceplate and use a screwdriver you can turn the water on and off. Do I just have a stripeed plastic knob or is the Moen cartirdge broken? Also I am having trouble removing the knob. I checked onthe MOEN web page and they say to use an allen wrench. But I don't see an allen wrench bolt anywere on the neck??Below is a link to a picture of the faucet.

shoebox.msnw

Sebastien

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Does it have a little logo cover in the middle of the cap? It often prys off, exposing the bolt. Not really familar with that valve (I'm not a pro).

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
This is a standard Moen chateau. The screw in the picture holds the handle on. If you remove the screw, you can remove the handle. It is probalby stripped.

Jaredsam

Reaction score
Same faucet, same problem

saubouin said:
Here is the problem: When turning the knob on the shower faucet the water no longer comes on. However, if you remove the faceplate and use a screwdriver you can turn the water on and off. Do I just have a stripeed plastic knob or is the Moen cartirdge broken? Also I am having trouble removing the knob. I checked onthe MOEN web page and they say to use an allen wrench. But I don't see an allen wrench bolt anywere on the neck??Below is a link to a picture of the faucet.

shoebox.msnw

Sebastien
I have the exact same shower and problem. Have you found your answer yet, I am still needing help.

Plumber1

Plumber
Reaction score
Moen

I'll go with JIMBO and say that it's got to do with the handle assembly.
But where do you use the screwdriver to turn the faucet on?

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score