220v/50amp to Shop

Users who are viewing this thread

DesertJim

Reaction score
Hi Gang, I just joined this forum.......I don't think I have been here before....not sure.

I'm a beginning welder and have managed to stick up a couple of metal buildings and so far they stayed "glued" despite the wind here in NM. I used a wire-feed and the beads aren't "purty", but.......................

I just acquired an almost new Lincoln AC-225 and my shop isn't wired for 50 amps. I was discussing this with my friend, who wired my shop for 30 amps.
We buried 10g wire and ran it to a sub-panel in the garage.

He thought that I might be able to just use a heavy duty 4-6 gauge extension cord to run from my the electrical input at the house since I don't weld that often and not for long at a time.

I would rather have the shop wired for the welder, actually, but there are other things to consider, not the least of which is the cost. Main thing is that I don't have room for another double breaker in the box.

The only thing requiring more than 20 amps in my shop, other than the welder, is a large 220v air compressor, which we wired directly into a 30 amp breaker. Since I don't have room in my existing electrial box (at the house) for another double breaker, another thought was why couldn't we go ahead and run a 4-6 gauge wire to the shop and then run a 30 and a 50 off it for the compressor and welder(using the space of the existing double breaker).
Zat make any sense?

I'm shooting in the dark at a black target that isn't even there, so any help will be more than welcomed.

Regards,

Jim

Mattbee24

In the Trades
Reaction score
Well, there are a few things you could do. But first, we need to know a few things.

First, did you run conduit from your panel in the house to the panel in the shop? If so, What size is it?

Second, What amperage panel is in the shop, and how many spaces does it have?

Third, What brand panel do you have in the house?

DesertJim

Reaction score
:eek: