D/W supply line?

Users who are viewing this thread

wrdtlpf

Carpentry/Handyman Service
Reaction score
Hi All- Remodeling my sister's kitchen and the new layout relocates the D/W and the existing supply line, soft copper, doesn't reach. I'm a carpenter/handyman and was wondering if there's something similar to a refrig supply kit or are guys using that PEX(sp) tubing? Do you have to use copper sense your taping into the hot water side? Thanks for advice-

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
The most DIY friendly choice would be a 3/8" braided stainless steel dishwasher supply line. Available in 30", 48", 60", 72". Easy to connect to copper tube with a 3/8 compression union.

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
And you can also attach several of these braided stainless steel hoses together with a 3/8" compression union just get rid of the nuts and ferrule.

Do not use the Watts Floodsafe dishwasher connectors. Big Orange is pushing them hard. They are a useless product prone to nussance trips which will shut the water off to the dishwasher and I have seen the connector just before the Floodsafe Valve fail flooding a house. If you think about it, they are a dumb idea! Imagine why you would need a valve to protect you in the event a "No-Burst" hose Bursts. I fail to see any logic there.:confused:
no_burst_dw.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
! Imagine why you would need a valve to protect you in the event a "No-Burst" hose Bursts. I fail to see any logic there.:confused:
no_burst_dw.jpg
I never thought about it just like that, but I agree completely!