How to buy a replacement control box question

Users who are viewing this thread

tyoc

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to this stuff so bear with me. I lost pressure last night, it came back for a little bit but then completely gone this morning. Not freezing, found no leaks anywhere so I am pretty sure it is a problem with the well.
I checked the pressure control switch and it is for sure sending power to the control box. Box is humming/buzzing for a few seconds then stops, then buzzes again and then stops, over and over until I shut off power. The box is in bad shape with lots of rust so I suspect it is pretty old. We moved in here 5 years ago and the old lady we bought from did not give us any info on the well, and I didn't think to ask because I'd never had a well before. I do not know for sure what the HP of the pump is, nor how deep. I have heard rumors that wells are around 300' in the area but I have no idea how accurate that is.
Control box is made by Red Jacket pumps, and there is a small sticker inside reading:
Panel Assem NO.
264-110
50NI-CBP
1/2HP - 208/230V-60Hz-7.2amp
So according to that I have a 1/2 hp pump but I do not know it for sure because when I moved in there was a falling down storage shed with a broken submersible pump in amongst the junk. I threw it away with everything else (stupid that I did not take note of it's model/rating beforehand). So I know for sure that at one point it had a 1/2 hp pump but I don't know for sure that it still has that..but I guess at this point I will suspect it does.
I ran the tests as indicated on the inside lable of the box lid and everything checks out (if I understand it correctly) except the run capacitor reads 0 (meter didn't do anything at all) which is supposed to mean a shorted capacitor.