Best boiler setup?

Users who are viewing this thread

ArcticCircle

Reaction score
Complete boiler newbie here...... I just bought a house and it's a complete fixer upper, including trashing the old boiler and water heater.

Alaska has an energy rebate going on but requires a 90% or higher effieciency boiler. I've gotten quotes from anywhere from $10K to $12.5K for a Weil-McClain Ultra 105 and matching sidearm water heater. I'm having a hard time dumping that kind of money into a heating system. What can you guys recommend for a kick ass heating system that won't cost me an arm and a leg.

However, there is something to be said for picking up the phone and my house is warm in 2 days. Plus paying for a more efficient boiler will pay off in the long run.

What should I do!?! Thanks for all input.

Doherty Plumbing

Journeyman & Gas Fitter
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Complete boiler newbie here...... I just bought a house and it's a complete fixer upper, including trashing the old boiler and water heater.

Alaska has an energy rebate going on but requires a 90% or higher effieciency boiler. I've gotten quotes from anywhere from $10K to $12.5K for a Weil-McClain Ultra 105 and matching sidearm water heater. I'm having a hard time dumping that kind of money into a heating system. What can you guys recommend for a kick ass heating system that won't cost me an arm and a leg.

However, there is something to be said for picking up the phone and my house is warm in 2 days. Plus paying for a more efficient boiler will pay off in the long run.

What should I do!?! Thanks for all input.

I would say that it is money you probably won't regret spending 5 years from now.