Installing Dampers in Existing Ductwork

Users who are viewing this thread

Nin28

Reaction score
I have a forced air furnace that supplies pretty much all of the hot air to our utility room and office space on the 1st floor. Our bedrooms on the 2nd floor get a cool soft breeze of air. I want to install 2 dampers on the ducts feeding the 1st floor of my house so that pretty much the majority of the air goes to the 2nd floor. I realize I need to take apart the ducts to install the dampers, however, I have never done this before. Below of two pictures of the pieces I want to take apart and install the dampers. I'm sure I could eventually get them apart, but I need advice and how I could do this in the best/easiest possible way and how to get them back together. Thank you.

Picture002.jpg

Picture001.jpg

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
If they're what I think they are, those metal bands will slide off. Straighten out the tabs at each end, then try to slide them off. If they are what I think they are, there's a bent edge on the duct, and the band wraps around and holds the two pieces together.

Gator37

Retired prof. engr.
Reaction score
The first pic connection is what they call slip and drive. The face you see appears to be the drive side. Straighten out the bent ends and tap it off with a hammer. the other side is the slip side. These can be put back together fairly easy if you do not damage them to much. Once you take off the drive you will get the hang of how it is attached. The long attachment side which you did not ask about is probably a pittsburg lock of which is a little harder to get apart. Take a look at the attached web page for a better explaination. http://www.marstaninc.com/rec_sheet_metal.html

Nin28

Reaction score