Water Softener Installation?

Users who are viewing this thread

prickett

Reaction score
Recently I bought a GE water softener from Home Depot to replace an old/failed water softener. I read the installation manual ahead of time so I could buy the appropriate parts to hook it up. When I told the workers at HD what I needed they said they didn't sell those parts. I thought it odd they sold a WS that there was no way to hook up.

The WS has a 1" plastic hook up (male) for both incoming and outgoing water. I needed to tie that into my 3/4" copper pipes. After three workers struggled for about 20 minutes to find a solution, I finally ended up with:

* 1" female to 3/4" female galv
* 3/4" male to 3/4" male galv
* 3/4" female to 3/4" Sharkbite

I'm a noob, but I don't think you want to be hooking galv to copper - contrary to what the employee said (he said I'd be ok, so long as it was cold water - I don't believe this to be true).

I'd like to order plastic parts that mimic the setup above, and, if possible hook to a copper fitting of some sort.

Can someone tell me what parts I need (I searched a site selling PVC parts, but am not sure of the nomenclature of what I need)? And, if you know of a site selling said parts, that would be great too.

TIA,
Todd

Akpsdvan

In the Trades
Reaction score
Galv to copper can be done, if that is all there is and one needs to get the job done.

Check your messages.

Depending on the bypass that came with the unit, or if it did not and old one will work you might be able use it.

Scott_J

Reaction score
Hi Todd,

I had the exact same problem, spent a half hour in the adapters section before I realized the old bypass valve could be used directly. I also found a 3/4" sharkbite to 1" Female NIPT on the nets but didn't want to wait for delivery.

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score