Groaning pipes

Users who are viewing this thread

Candice80

Reaction score
In the last few months I have noticed that when the hot water is turned on to an infrequently used shower (but not the bath faucet) the pipes groan and rattle. This sound and vibration immediately ceases when the diverter is switched back to the tub or the water is turned off. Cold water does not make any noise.
I have tired a few suggestions that I found on the web such as taking off the shower head to clear air and shutting off the hot water and draining all of the lines in the house. So far nothing has worked (I am so glad that one of those links was to this forum.) I am not very experienced with plumbing and the sound and vibration really concerns me.
The fixtures seem kind of old. Since this has been happening it also seems like the water pressure the the shower has gone down.

Any ideas out there?

Thanks

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
I woud check and see if you have a pressure reducing valve.

It sounds like it may be in failure.

It should be located near where your water enters the house and it will have an adjustment screw sticking out of it.

If you have one purchase a pressure gauge that will attatch to your outside faucet and test the water pressure with nothing turned on in the house then turn on a tub faucet and see what the pressure drops to.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
If this is a basic old 2 handle ( or 3 handle) shower, you could have a loose washer on the hot stem, which causes vibration when turned on. In this example, if you open the handle wide open, does it go away?

If it is a single handle, the problem is probably elsewhere, such as the pressure regulator mentioned,

Candice80

Reaction score
Jimbo-
It is a 2 handle shower with a 3rd handle for going between the shower and bath, but opening the handle wide does not make the noise go away.

Cass-