Well pressure switch or bad pressure relief valve?

Users who are viewing this thread

Terrordaktyll

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to well systems and would love some help with my new issue. My well pressure tank and water heater are in an outside closet in my home and I use a oil radiator to keep the pressure tank from freezing. Well after a 60 degree day we had a drop at -3 degrees. The pressure tank froze up again so I turned up the radiator. When it finally thawed out, I could hear that the tank was short cycling. When I went out to check it out, there was a constant flow of water from the water heater's pressure relief valve. When I turned off the pressure tank, the flow from the water heater would slowly stop, and start up again when I turn the pressure switch back on. I have no idea where to start to troubleshoot this. I'm thinking either a bad pressure switch causing it to not turn off or a bad pressure relief valve on the water heater, however the water heater is 4 months old. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
Does your pressure gauge seem to work? You might change that just in case.

The pressure gauge readings should be key to troubleshooting this, I think.

Your symptoms seem consistent with a pressure switch that is stuck on.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
The first thing to freeze is the little line that goes to the pressure switch. Get a hair dryer on that 1/4" nipple. The pressure relief is popping off because the pressure switch can't see the pressure and shut the pump off.

Terrordaktyll

Reaction score
Does your pressure gauge seem to work? You might change that just in case.

The pressure gauge readings should be key to troubleshooting this, I think.

Your symptoms seem consistent with a pressure switch that is stuck on.