Well flow test- Should i replace the pump/lines. Is it causing iron problems?

Users who are viewing this thread

BostonAcreage

Reaction score
Hello all,

Reaching out for some insight. Closing on a new home with a well.

Flow test was performed-
  • 6" Drilled Water Well
  • Submersible pump drawing 8.9 amps, capable of 12gpm.
  • Static well water level 2' below surface @ start of test
  • Pump tested at 12gpm for 45 minutes drew water level to 88'
  • Stabilized water level at 85' at 7.5gpm
  • Well produces 7.5 gpm
  • Pressure tank is Well-x-trol 203 year 2016 in good condition
  • There is an abandoned well located nearby the current well.

I've also had a water analysis performed which turned back multiple problems that i'll be posting to solicit system recommendation advice in the water softener forum.
Most namely is an iron level of 12.1MG/L, Dissolved Iron of 6.05MG/L, Arsenic 0.011MG/L, Manganese 0.372MG/L, PH 6.4

I'm new to wells and trying to learn what i can find. Anybody more familiar have any insight on the above provided information.

I have no idea the age of the well's intake line/pump and considering installing new to compliment the new water filtration system we install.

• - Is there a chance the supply line is contributing to our iron problem or does the data indicate it's just in the water supply?

• -Would i be throwing unnecessary money into a new supply line/pump?

• -Based on above results, is it possible to achieve a higher gpm flow rate with a new pump/line?

• -Pump/line recommendations? Was considering pex instead of steel for supply.

• -Does the abandoned well adjacent this one with referenced issues likely indicate anything?
Last item of note is the property is located near the top of a "mountain side" and i've been informed that the area has been known to have well replenishment issues.

Thank you in advance to anyone that is willing to chime in on anything.

Reach4

Reaction score