Wall switch needs extra pressure to turn light off?

Users who are viewing this thread

tracyballard

Reaction score
Hello folks, I hope you will bear with me, but my house has some serious electrical problems, and about the only way I can think of to afford to be able to get it fixed is to learn myself. I've decided to learn all I can about household electricity even though I have always avoided it in the past (as a mechanic I'm familiar with 12 volt systems but household systems scare me a bit). I will be asking some basic questions as I go along trying to learn as much as I can, so I hope some people will be able to answer my questions as they have time.

My first question as I go along on this research is trying to understand what's happening with my switch for our patio light. It's a normal on/off switch, where up is on and down is off, but recently it stopped working - the light stays on no matter what position the switch is in. But if you push the switch down past where it normally sits, the light will go off. What issue is causing that to happen? thanks in advance.

Reach4

Reaction score
Bad switch. Easy to replace. I am not an electrician.

1. examine the switch, under the switchplate. No need to drop power to do that. Expect (two screws) hold the switch to the box. Expect two wires to be connected to the side or back if that is the only switch. Expect 3 wires if there is another switch that also controls that light. Also look at the switch plate. Want a new one? They are cheap.

2. Buy a switch of the color and ease-of-operation that you want. The cheapest contractor grade will usually work well, and will last years, but upgrading to a commercial grade switch is not much more money. You want to use a screw to connect the wires, and not do a back-stab kind of connection. Don't be afraid to discuss switches with the store person. It's a very common thing with less subtly than many things.