Sulfur smell

Users who are viewing this thread

Jaylivi

Reaction score
Recently purchased a home on a well. No one had lived there for about two years, though the pressure tank and pump had been replaced in 2014. There was no filtration, and I have not shock chlorinated. Test results:
iron 2.61 mg/l
sulfate 52.6 mg/l
nitrate o.15 mg/l
pH 7.8
hardness 400 mgl

After an extensive renovation, new water lines, water heater and a three stage big blue filtration system particle/carbon/iron ( my wife wanted me to do something with the water).

iron .023 mg/l
sulfate 213 mg/l
nitrate 0 mg/l
pH 7,30
hardness 318 mg/l

We moved in three weeks ago and have had a rotten egg smell coming from the hot water tank. I raised the tank temp to 160 12 hours ago and don't notice any improvement. I"m going to drain it and use hydrogen peroxide to clean it, and will probably shock chlorinate the well, but I'm also looking for a longer term solution.

Obvious to the experienced eye, I'm a well newbie but would like to learn. Any advice would be appreciated.

Bannerman

Reaction score
If the sulfur odor is only in the hot water, there maybe a reaction with the anode in the water heater tank. Often replacing the standard magnesium anode with an aluminum one will resolve the issue. Alternatively, there are powered anodes that maybe used, but are more expensive.

The anode is normally a rod that is screwed into the top of the tank.

Jaylivi

Reaction score
I was also surprised by the iron reduction since I didn't do anything too fancy with filtering. The well had sat unused for more than a year, perhaps pumping a lot of water out of it between tests made most of the difference?

I appreciate the link, and I'll probably choose overkill since it's my water system.

The smell definitely came on only after the water tank was set up for two weeks. I have heard that changing the anode is a PITA, and I'm going to have to lay her down because my ceiling will be too low (I assume).

Reach4