Small 15gallon point of use water heater Seismic question

Users who are viewing this thread

Brother

Reaction score
I am not a pro plumber. So forgive my question if it is too simple. Do small point of use 15 gallon water heaters still require the seismic eartquake straps like the bigger water hears?? Also, if it is up in a ceiling (office bathroom) is there a leak alarm required?

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
Is this electric? Or doesn't really matter as the code doesn't specify, but a gas water heater is more dangerous if left un-strapped in earthquake country. There's no requirement for any alarm only access and a pan required. It doesn't matter the size they need strapped if you are on the area that requires straps.

There could be some local requirements that would be specific to your area so you might check with the local inspector.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
I dont think any waterheater is exempt maybe a 2 gallon wall hung unit . but a typical 6 gallon round needs strapped perhaps one strap but I think 2 straps. Ive never heard of alarm required Tand p rules and drip pans do apply

Brother

Reaction score
Thanks for the responses. This is an electric 15 gallon water heater. Its just the location in the ceiling kinda makes it hard to get at and it appears even more difficult for straps.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
UPC 507.2 "Seismic Provisions" does not have any limitations based on tank size. But it says that water heaters must be "anchored or strapped to resist horizontal displacement due to earthquake motion," and then goes on to tell you how to strap it. If you can come up with an acceptable way to anchor it to resist horizontal displacement, then you don't have to strap it.

Cheers, Wayne

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score