problems with Grohe shower mixing valve

Users who are viewing this thread

the_eleven

Reaction score
Greetings! First post for me here.

After 17 years a client's Grohe 34-126 shower mixing valve started only delivering water between hot and warm temperatures. I am a general contractor with plumbing experience, from rough and finish install to servicing installed fixtures.

I ordered a new thermostatic cartridge, part # 47662000, and a set of non-return valves, part # 1411600M directly from Grohe.

These new parts were installed, water turned back on, and unfortunately the problem remains.

I have construction photos at rough-in and verified that the valve is fed with hot on left, and cold on right. The cold side flows strongly from the lavy sink and adjacent soaking tub in this bathroom, as well as interconnected sink in the laundry room on the other side of the wall.

If I shut off hot at the valve (with the 8mm hex nut) there is no water flow at the spout. If I shut off the cold, there is water flow.

I am totally stumped here. Can anyone educate me on what may be happening? Should not there by cold output from these valves, in case someone needs a cold shower? ;-)

Thanks in advance for any help with this!

TJRAD

Reaction score
Hello The eleven,
let me ask you a couple of questions. when you installed the cartridge did you calibrate it to 100 degrees?
second question, does the client have a tankless water heater or standard?
I will stand by for your response.

Attachments

• grohe thermo.pdf
    135.1 KB · Views: 118
  • grohethermo2.pdf
    245.1 KB · Views: 103

Breplum

Licensed plumbing contractor
Reaction score