New well installation

Users who are viewing this thread

Cookieman

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here, lots of great information so I thought I would get some opinions on a new well pump install and set up.
Here are the well specs.
400' deep
100' to static water level
3 gallons a minute
The installer is going to put in a 1 1/2 10gallon a minute pump at 380'
Single family home with a total fixture count of 15
I was wondering what size pressure tank to go with paired with a cycle stop valve.
Also do you think the pump gpm is too small. It will push more gpm early due to the high static level right?
I trust the installer he drilled the well and has been in the business for years.
Thanks

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
I would use a 12 GPM Dole valve in front of a PK1A Pside-Kick kit, which comes with the CSV1A and a 4.5 gallon size tank. You have at least 450 gallons stored in the well. A larger pressure tank is not going to help and in fact will act like an additional load for the well to supply.

Reach4

Reaction score
This table shows the GPM that a 1.5 HP 15 GPM pump will produce into a given PSI surface pressure.

What does a Dole valve add to the system?
img_2.png

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
I agree the 15 GPM, 1.5 HP would be less likely to upthrust when the water level is at 100'. But that pump would only deliver about 20 PSI when the water pulls down to 380'.

The 10 GPM, 1.5HP will need a Dole valve to keep form upthrusting when starting with a 100' water level. I said 12 GPM just for some cushion, but you could use a 15 GPM Dole valve. Anything over 15 GPM is bad for the pump.

I would probably just use a 1HP, 10 GPM pump. It will still build pressure from 380', and won't upthrust when starting at 100' pumping level.

Reach4

Reaction score