Nevermind, this is correct

Users who are viewing this thread

mitch.cowan

Reaction score
Hello, first post on this forum and I'm looking forward to receiving advice and tips in the future.

To start off I'm a Journeyman Plumber in Colorado and have been plumbing for 5 years. I've only worked for 1 small 3 man company with a 20 year master as the owner but have recently switched to a slightly larger 5 man company. The nice thing is I'm around new ideas and ways of plumbing, however sometimes some of what they are saying or doing looks a little off to me. Which brings me to this 3 piece bathroom group in question.

At my previous company we always had our bathroom groups that were horizontally wet vented come off the toilet, which would be the furthest downstream fixture in the group. I have been refreshing my memory with Chapter 9 of the IPC recently, and with commentary, and I cannot find anything that states the toilet has to be the furthest fixture down stream. That's easy enough to understand but the commentary has me wondering if the way the fittings are arranged in this bathroom group are incorrect. I will attach a picture. My thinking is that the 3x2 wye they used to pick up the toilet should of been a straight 3 inch wye with a 3x2 bell reducing coming out the end to pick up the lav.

Sorry for the long story but thank you for this forum and anyone's input.

Attachments

• 20231118_094941.jpg
    20231118_094941.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 48
  • 20231118_094941.jpg
    20231118_094941.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 45

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
I NEVER had to MAKE the toilet the last fixture, unless that was how it worked out. The shower drain is incorrect because it must have a vent before it enters the main, in your drawing. I would have done the system several different ways from your drawing.

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm pretty sure the ipc requires that a lav or shower be the most upstream fixture.