Diagram of new drain...Go/NoGo

Users who are viewing this thread

icebox

Reaction score
Hi all,

First post here, I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade, so I do most of my own work, but I def value a pro's opinion on this matter!

I'm adding a new washer drain, and want to tie it into the lower floor soil stack... Want to know it's a go/no go---

Thanks in advance!!!

Attachments

• Plumbing.jpg
    Plumbing.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 1,200

icebox

Reaction score
The laundry sink is wet vented horizontally, upstream of that vent tie-in, there's a WC and sink for lower floor powder room.

Reaction score
The only thing you need to consider is the amount of work you will be doing with banded couplers, as that soil stack won't be flexible in any way.

Many DIYs make the common mistake they can simply remove a section and put a tee or wye there only to realize the pipe doesn't budge at all, and have to cut away a lot more of it so they can squeeze in a coupler.

It may be easier to wet vent your new washer drain to the laundry sink drain, assuming there is nothing in between it. You have not provided any more information, nor pics of your rooms for me to make assumptions.

Small diameter ABS or PVC is flexible to an extent, verticals and anything larger than 3" is not.

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score
It is a no go as drawn. It needs to be vented. The drawing for the laundry sink drain does not have a vent either.

icebox

Reaction score
Can I make a run with pvc to the washer sink and have it drain into there? (not into the sink, but under it before the trap)

Right now it has a long discharge hose that's unsightly, I like everything neat, so I'm thinking a PVC run to the sink might work?

It's within the vented distance allowed by the charts I'm looking at, why is the sink allowed to be wet vented and this not?

icebox

Reaction score