Diagnosing massive water consumption

Users who are viewing this thread

okayrj

Reaction score
So the property I live on has a fairly standard well system, where the water is pumped into a 2000 gal storage tank and then pumped to the pressure tank from there — at least I assume it’s standard from the diagrams I’ve seen, but I have only been working with a well system for a month now, so I’m completely new to a lot of this.

Recently, we’ve started to have a MASSIVE amount of water consumption where the 2000 gal tank will be completely drained after only 24-48hrs, when previously the intermittent pumping was sufficient to keep the tank full. I’ve spent weeks searching for a culprit and chasing down any and all leaks from the pressure tank onwards, and anything I found was repaired, but all were far too small to account for the amount of water being used regardless.

What I’m wondering is — there’s no way for the water in the holding tank to possibly be leaking back down into the well, is there? Seeing as how the fill valve is at the top of the tank and all, I’m assuming there’d be no line running back down into the well for the tank to drain into, right?

And also, barring that, what other potential culprit could there be, other than a leak underground somewhere I’ve yet to discover as it shows no sign of damp ground despite an apparent 2000g/day leakage.

thanks folks, and like I said, I’m new with these well systems so forgive me if I’m wildly confused about how it works altogether or something.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Items you can check in the home are things like running toilets. Turn off the water supplies to them and see if the tanks drain down. My mothers place used to see huge water bills sometimes. Her hearing wasn't very good.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score