Cost of backup sump pump system

Users who are viewing this thread

perkydi

Reaction score
After 7 years in my townhome, my sump pump quit during a rainstorm and since it was late, I was unable to get a new pump or someone to put it in so I was powerless and just watched my finished basement get ruined. I am now pursuing a backup sump system. My question is this (and I only ask because i do not know much about the cost of plumbing services), is $1,500 way too much for a pedestal (I think and Aquanot) backup system? Any information you can give would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
It's a lot more than I would pay to get the job done but I'm a do-it-myself engineer.

Are you looking for a battery powered backup pump, or a backup (second pump) for your existing pump? I would expect to spend $500 to $800 for a really good battery powered backup system, or $250 to $500 for a second house-powered pump with alternating controls. That assumes that you have room for two pumps in your sump.

Do you know the model number or capacity of your existing pump? GPM and head (ft)

Pedestal pumps seem to be more expensive that the functionally equivalent submersibles. The concept dates back to before submersible motors were reliable and many people want to replace with what they have.

Come back with a bit more idea what you need and I will give you some specific ideas.

perkydi

Reaction score
I will bring my estimate with me to work and give you the exact information. The backup systems is suppose to be maintenance free (like I don't have to add water to the battery) just check the backup once a month and replace the battery every three years. I would not be able to do this myself, but I don't want to suffer another loss to my basement. So, tomorrow I will give you all the information. Thanks for answering so quickly.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score