Basement Toilet, no flange & looks like cast iron

Users who are viewing this thread

Vagrantx291

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a newbie when it comes to plumbing and I'm currently renovating my basement bathroom (house was built in 73)

I noticed upon removing the old toilet that there was on flange, the bolts were in the concrete and there was just a rubber ring and old wax behind it. The pipe is rusted inside so I'm assuming its cast iron, looks to be 4".

Do I need to dig up around the pipe to install an actual flange or could I use something like this to slip inside the existing pipe?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/4-in-PVC-DWV-Replacement-Closet-Flange-43539/100139480?keyword=4"+Cast+Iron+Closet+Flange+Replacement

or even this?

http://www.homedepot.com/p/DANCO-HydroSeat-Toilet-Flange-Repair-10672X/204403879

Last edited by a moderator:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
You can install a new flange inside the old pipe, but make sure it's sealed. If you install a "new" flange, make sure it's secure to the floor.
Or you can install using wax ring/rings.

CountryBumkin

Reaction score
Too bad its made of plastic. Plastic just doesn't hold up well. Be careful tightening the toilet hold-down T-bolts as they tend to want to rotate in the slot and can crack the plastic.

Reach4

Reaction score
Is there a problem with the two bolts that are sticking up now?

Stuff

Reaction score
Thanks for the link to that part. I just used it for my 1940's basement "Pittsburgh toilet" that I had been putting off. It slid in easily after I covered the rubber with plumber's grease. The stainless steel ring then rotated to where I needed it. Some Tapcon screws and all was good.

It may be a local thing as I had no flange either and the inner dimension was 3 3/4". Even worse, the two toilet bolts were screwed in small pieces of rotted wood that were embedded in the concrete.

Hey, wait a minute.

This is awkward, but...