115 yr old house, replacing the iron main drain

Users who are viewing this thread

MatthewW

Reaction score
Just found this site and appears PERFECT for most of what I do, flip houses and rentals! Lots of plumbing! (small 'yay'.... very small)

I'm not new to plumbing as I have the best job in the world, buying junky houses and foreclosures and turning those into rentals or flips. Those of you doing foreclosures have to be VERY adept at sleuthing copper as I'm in Colorado and often find multiple breaks. The smallest number I've seen is 8 or 9 on flips purchased over winter, the most number of breaks was 17 on a 5600sf house -- lots of space to break. To judge my worth as a plumber I had them all done in a day and a half, without damaging the drywall much at all - one tiny cut to a finished basement!

What I don't know much about & intend to learn, is hot to repair this 115 year old house with a cracked main cast iron drain. Unsure what size but appears 4" outside. It's broken in at least one spot visibly, likely two (either bent/pushed or kinked and therefor broken since it's cast iron) as it comes down and bends to an elbow in the crawlspace/basement, on dirt. There is an old brick pier over the line which I'm sure used to have supports on it for the beams and is no longer used, which the drain follows through and suspect the drain is pinched there. I imagine the house settled 2" and pushed the cast down, as well as the pier weight settling on the pipe and pushing down on it. You can see the pipe completely exposed coming out the other side and appears to point upwards a bit coming out of the pier, then cracked (water bubbled out of it when the line became clogged with roots) and then moves back down again as it exits to the cleanout 15'to 20 feet later.