Search results

1. Queen50

Adding a Tiny Bath Room

I don't know about the plumbing, but if it's not too late, you may want to look at boat heads (bathrooms) for how to utilize the small space. Essentially, as in many Japanese bathrooms, the entire room is waterproofed with an open shower.
  2. Queen50

Slow-draining Kitchen Sink But No Clogs

OK I'm not an expert, but when our double sink acted like this, we unscrewed the P-trap where it goes into the wall and found a clog of grease that had accumulated over time. It plugged about 40% of the pipe!
  3. Queen50

Identifying issues with installing freestanding tub in basement

Thanks for the info. I thought some of the slab might need to come up. Looking at the faucets available, it looks like the pex water lines will need to be run under the slab as well. Oh, well.
  4. Queen50

Identifying issues with installing freestanding tub in basement

Need advice, please. We want to replace an acrylic one-piece shower with a freestanding tub in a basement bathroom. By removing an alcove wall and rerouting the pex water lines, we would have the space to place the tub utilizing the existing drain. (The drain lines are below grade.) The work...
  5. Queen50

Toilet won't flush.. Not clogged.

When I used to wash clothes with cold water and a power detergent, we had a crust of detergent build up at the outlet where the pipe ran into the tank. It would allow stuff to pass slowly through.
  6. Queen50

Question about bathroom sink pop-up drains

Cover the closed popup with one of those flat rubber stoppers to hold water for a long time. I hate popups...it seems they're always failing or in need of adjustment.
  7. Queen50

Water heater replacement in modular home

That's what I suspected. I found another provider who will do it for $1200. Includes new WH tank, drip pan, earthquake straps, installation and haul away.
  8. Queen50

Water heater replacement in modular home