Recent content by JacksonC

1. JacksonC

Compression Ring Cutter

To remove my old compression fitting rings, I ended up using a puller from English Tool Company www.englishtoolco.com . It's very small so it fits in tight locations, and it can be placed and operated with one hand. It threads by hand into the existing compression nut, then you use a ratcheting...
  2. JacksonC

Compression Ring Cutter

Great to know. Looks like it can work in really tight situations. Thanks!
  3. JacksonC

Compression Ring Cutter

Very helpful! Thanks again, Terry!
  4. JacksonC

Compression Ring Cutter

I have no experience replacing a stop valve. The puller seems like a perfect and easy way to remove the sleeve, but then I started seeing online comments from users that using a puller had flared the pipe opening, deformed the pipe, etc. - and comments that a 'cutter' was the safe way to it -...
  5. JacksonC

Compression Ring Cutter

Okay, I'll get a puller and try it. Fortunately if the ring won't slide off I believe I have enough room to cut the pipes and still be able to install a stop valve. But just out of curiosity, is there such a thing as a tool specifically designed to cut compression rings rather than pull them...
  6. JacksonC

Compression Ring Cutter

In discussions about removing 1/2 inch copper compression rings, I have seen several comments that using a compression ring cutter eliminates the possible problems that compression ring pullers can cause. However, none of the comments give a product or brand name for such a cutter, and googling...
  7. JacksonC

Can't get Delta tub spout in proper orientation AND against the wall

This is the same problem that Pat Furrie posted about in 2018, but I did not see a good answer to his question. I replaced an old Delta pull-up tub spout with a new Delta RP17453 pull-down spout. I did not replace the existing fitting because it is in good shape, is identical to the new fitting...
  8. JacksonC