Painting trim, baseboards, and kitchen cabinets.

Users who are viewing this thread

JohnyChevyEG

Reaction score
Website
www.chevalierfamily.com
Team, I am about to take on the task of painting all the trim, and kitchen cabinets in my house. Currently the trim is a stain, with a shiny surface coat of something, i'm not 100 percent sure, i'm not a painter expert. The kitchen cabinets are the same I believe. Whats the best way to go about this? Should I completely sand off the original stuff or can I just paint over it after cleaning real good. I'm going to paint this stuff bright white. I never see them resanding on HGTV, so i'm just curious. If I have to sand, i'm probably going to end up just buying new baseboard trim, so I can get larger than 4 inch trim. Thanks in advance.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
THe instructions on the can of paint will often say to sand enough to dull the finish. It would probably also be a good idea to use a primer first, too. Make sure to clean the surface well after sanding.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Liquid sandpaper or TSP are usually good enough prep. These surfaces will then definiely need a primer. The best bet is a good oil base primer, then best quality acrylic latex topcoat.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
When I refinished my cabinets the last time I used one of the High Volume Low Pressure (HVLP) sprayers. I was using polyurethane and thinned it a bit. It was a better finish that was possible with a brush.

I removed all of the cabinet doors and did them flat. I masked the cabinets pretty good and used the HVLP for the frames as well.

I used the $69 sprayer from HD. I don't know how it will work on the thicker paints.

HoneySuckle

Reaction score
I sanded forever and put about 3 coats of primer then 3 of pain and it never really adhered well to the previously stained doors. Someone said once the wood was stained you can't ever get a good painted finish.

Jimbo

Plumber