How difficult is replacing this bathtub

Users who are viewing this thread

mf915

Reaction score
Hi,
I have this type of one-piece acrylic/fiberglass tub/surround bathtub. I'm hoping to replace it with a "generic" bathtub (from HD or lowes) and then tile the surrounding. How difficult is replacing bathtub like this ?

Here are couple more specific questions:
1) is the existing bathtub nailed to studs ? Are there drywalls behind the surround ?
2) will a "generic" bathtub fit the existing plumbing (drain pipe, etc) ? Is it likely that I'll need to replace the whole drain/pipe assembly ?? I mean - are they usually standard in size/locations ?

3) instead of replacing it - if I get a professional to refinish (paint, etc), how much am i looking at ?

I have never done it before - so i am little worried it might be too much for DIY.

Thanks

Attachments

• tub.jpg
    tub.jpg
    3 KB · Views: 7,741
Last edited:

Xenomorph

Reaction score
1) normally these 1 to 3 piece units are just screwed into the wall studs, you may have to be persuasive to get it out and possibly cut it out since its only acrylic.

2) when you change the bathtub, you almost always have to replumb the drain

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Yeah, a sawsall works to chop it up into manageable pieces to cart out. There are flanges all around it that the drywall butts up and over. About the only place there isn't a flange is at the outside by the floor. You'll have to tear some of the drywall up to get it out.

BennyBaby

Reaction score