Low Bowl Water Level

Users who are viewing this thread

tp01tp012000

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm having a similiar problem with low bowl water level as astro46 mentioned in his posting (https://terrylove.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4692). I'm a novice homeowner so I don't understand what "The horizontal under the toilet" is that's mentioned in the post. Can someone describe what that is?

I have a Kohler Rialto "gravity lite" toliet, model K-3386. My problem started when the toliet became plugged. I used a plunger so the toliet is now able to flush correctly but the water level in the bowl didn't return to the originial level. After using a 3' auger the water level is now lower than after I used the plunger. My thought is I might have moved a partial blockage farther down the system but I'm not sure. Should I try a 6' auger, remove the toliet to check for a blockage or something else? Thanks in advance for the help!!

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
level

The water level in the bowl is controlled by its internal construction, and cannot be changed. So if your level is lower than normal, then something inside the tank is not correct and the proper amount of water is not being returned to the bowl after flushing.

tp01tp012000

Reaction score
One point I forgot to mention is which is also similiar to astro46's post. After flushing the water in the bowl reaches the original level but then quickly drops to the level it's at currently. It will stay at this level until flushed again so water doesn't appear to be leaking from the bowl.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
You may have a siphon situation, which suggests a vent problem.

Here is a test. Slowly pour water into the bowl. The water should reach a level equal to the lowest point in the highest arch of the outlet passage; not higher and not lower.