Steam Pipe Removal

Users who are viewing this thread

stevebumbar

Reaction score
Hello Good People,

I am trying to remove a steam pipe in my basement (energy costs are killing, so I am gonna try to do it myself). It's about 2' long with an elbow at one end and simple connector at the other.

Now, the pipe is very old and rusty. I need to replace it, but it seems like its corroded onto the elbow and connector. I afraid that I cannot budge it. Is there anything I can do to loosen it? Does anyone have any solid adivce about this?

I appreciate any help.

Steve'o.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
When you say simple connector, if it is not a union, you can't just unscrew the pipe, as even if you can crack that old thread loose, on one end, you'd be loosening it on one end while trying to tighten on the other! I think (and I'm not a pro), you'd have to saw it in the middle, maybe take a chunk out by making two cuts. Then, you could unscrew it separately from each end. To put it back together, you'd need two shorter pieces with a union connecting them back together.

Threaded pipe is installed from one end to the other...trying to take a piece out of the middle usually can't be done by simply unscrewing that piece.

If you can unscrew the pieces, you'd probably need two very large pipe wrenches, maybe even with a pipe to extend the handle. One to hold the joint so you don't torque it and mess things downstream up, and the second one to turn the pipe.

Dubldare

Plumber/Gasfitter
Reaction score
Heat.

Heating of the stubborn fitting will help in removing the old pipe. The goal is to try to cause the fitting to expand enough so the pipe can be removed, while keeping the heat away from the pipe's threads.

Additionally, if that pipe is in such poor condition, using a chain wrench would be far superior to a pipe wrench. Pipe wrenches have a bad tendency to warp the pipe you're trying to remove.

Mike Swearingen

Reaction score
Website