Heater ?'s

Users who are viewing this thread

TonyBagadonutz

Electrician
Reaction score
It just dawned on me.....in my 2nd floor rehab project, the bath has NO HEAT.

The house has forced air, but at this point, we are in no position to run any ductwork.

While I am an electrician, you plumbers have probably seen more along the lines of an electric heater for the bathroom than I have. Putting radiant heat panels in the ceiling is not really an option (too many lights..but not enough to heat the room). I thought about some sort of under floor/in the tile heat - but think that will only warm the floor as oppossed to heat the room. I may be able to recess a heater(or two) into some wall cavities...I'd rather not install a simple electric BB heater (but may have to).

Any suggestions? :confused:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Heated towel bars are nice, but most are only around 150W or so, but, if you have it on all of the time and things are insulated...it can make a difference. It does cycle itself to prevent it from overheating, but that may not be a 'problem'.

TonyBagadonutz

Electrician
Reaction score
Mike Swearingen said:
plug-in-the-wall electric space heater, until you can get to running a more conventional heating system for your second floor.
Mike

The 2nd flr IS heated - just not the bath.

jadnashua said:
Heated towel bars are nice, but most are only around 150W or so, but, if you have it on all of the time and things are insulated...it can make a difference. It does cycle itself to prevent it from overheating, but that may not be a 'problem'.

150W? The lightbulbs will produce more wattage than that :) 7x75w= 525w. Neither of which will be very effeicient ~ although the switches could act as some sort of a Rube Goldberg t-stat :p

Come on people...I know you have better ideas. :D

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
TonyBagadonutz said:
The 2nd flr IS heated - just not the bath.