Collar for single wall 6" exaust pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

Personalt

Reaction score
I am an electrician replacing a air handler in a really small closet. Problem is there is a 6" single wall galvanized steel exhaust duct in my way. I need to temporally remove one section to get the air handler out.

Problem is the pipe comes through the floor and goes up to the floor above so there is no play for me to slide a piece of out the middle. I am going to have to make one cut to remove a section to get the air handler out.. I am going to head over the heating supply place tomorrow but was wondering if they make a collar that would slip over outside and still give me a good seal.

Personalt

Reaction score
What is it the exhaust from? Is it single wall pipe or double wall?

It really looks like single wall, is there a good way to tell with 100% certainity before I cut in to it??

There is a water heater in the apartment below and this is their exhaust stack.. I really hate to touch it but it is right in front of the air handler and there is no way to get access without taking out a section of pipe. How this pasted the original inspection is beyond me..

I have already spoken to owner belowand they will turn their water heater off while I work on this air handler.. I have a good hour or two but want to make sure I have all my ducks in a row.

Hackney plumbing

Homeowner
Reaction score
It really looks like single wall, is there a good way to tell with 100% certainity before I cut in to it??

There is a water heater in the apartment below and this is their exhaust stack.. I really hate to touch it but it is right in front of the air handler and there is no way to get access without taking out a section of pipe. How this pasted the original inspection is beyond me..

I have already spoken to owner belowand they will turn their water heater off while I work on this air handler.. I have a good hour or two but want to make sure I have all my ducks in a row.