Second floor plumbing plans and pics....please help.

Users who are viewing this thread

Heat

Reaction score
Ok....so I decided to take on this huge task of finishing the upstairs myself in order to afford to even do it instead of taking 20 years for someone to do it for me. I am a novice at all trades but not a master to one....so please bear with me.

I have a lonely toilet in the basement which I believe has a two inch vent line to the roof. Next to that 2inch vent is a 3 inch cast iron going to the second floor and was to be used at a later date. This house was built in the 1930's and the second floor was never touched...not even framed. Just an open room so it is like new construction for me. Here is the rough sketch. The bottom view is looking down from the ceiling and the top view is the side view. I am trying to figure out how to upload these pics I have so bear with me. 2nd floor plumbing.jpg

My biggest question is can I have two toilets, two showers, 3 sinks, and a laundry going down one waste line but I will have a 3 inch vent and a 2 inch vent going to the roof?

This pic shows the floor...2inch for basement toilet vent...3 inch for upstairs plumbing.View attachment 13354

This pic is in basement before branching out for upstairs.
IMG_2734.jpg

On the main floor there was a coat closet conveniently where I was putting the plumbing so my wife liked that there was no major construction in our living space. I did put cleanouts for each 3 in on the main floor for your reference.

This is the meat of the project....as you can see there is a 3 inch waste on the left with a 1 1/2in tee for one of the double bowl sinks and farther up there is a 2 in still available for the venting of the shower, toilet, and the other sink of the double bowl. The third pipe (3inch) on the right branches toward the pic and will be the waste for the other sink, toilet, and shower. The 2 inch tee off of that same pipe will serve the laundry.
IMG_2748.jpg