standpipe overflow

Users who are viewing this thread

januwan

Reaction score
This is not a new subject, my standpipe started to overflow when we wash bigger loads. If the load is small I can hear the water level rising in the standpipe. I have been using the same washer for last four years without any problems. I used foam to clean the drain but it did not help. I used the 25 ft snake twice. First I inserted it quite deep but nothing came out (there was some rust on the snake and I suspect I went into the vent). Second time I could not stick it deeper than 3 ft.
I am thinking about hiring someone with the camera. One plumber suggested "flushing" the line with multi nozzle tip (does it do the trick?)
What else can I do before I hire a Pro.
Any guidance welcome

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I can think of a couple of possible problems. First, your standpipe and drain may be too small. New washers require a 2" standpipe going into a larger main drain. Old machines could get by with 1-1/2" standpipes. Second possibility is you have a partly clogged drain. Chemicals will not clear drain clogs regardless of the many commercials that hype them. Homeowner sized hand snakes frequently will not do the job either. The drain needs a professional plumber to power snake the entire drain...clear to the street. A camera inspection would be in order if snaking did not fix the problem, but I would do the snaking first. Drain augering is not a DIY job.

januwan

Reaction score
Thanks for your comments. What puzzles me that is was working fine. The main drain is fine (I can see water flowing out of the house), the questionable line is only 25 ft long. I did not count on foams (it is good for hair only) but it was the easiest way to try:)
Yes I do have 1 1/2 pipe.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com