tub drain - trap replacement?

Users who are viewing this thread

Jeremytl

Scientist
Reaction score
Hi- question about a tub trap replacement... I believe the plumbing under the tub to be original to the house (1963). I have replaced quite a few old plumbing fixtures and the tub trap is next on the list. It suddenly stopped draining and I can't work the pipe snake through this trap:

My question is basically- can I just cut through the galvanized pipe on both sides of the old trap and insert a new trap with some kind of splice to each galvanize pipe? Please advise, I am novice.
Many thanks,
jeremy

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
I'm not a pro, either, but I think that is a drum trap...and if it is, you'd never get a snake through it; it is also no longer approved, so replacing it with a new P-trap is a good idea. It doesn't look like it is vented, either, so to do it right will take more than just replacing that old trap with a new one. But, if you cut it off, you could use no-hub connectors and PVC to install a new trap in place. WIthout a vent, you risk siphoning the trap, which will open the drain to the sewer and any resulting smells, gasses, etc. If you local authorities allow AAV (air-admittance valves), you may be able to run that up behind the tub wall above the top of the tub (above the flood rim by at least 6"). But, since they can fail, they must be accessable for eventual replacement (normally takes many years, but still).

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score