1960 American Standard Toilet Question...

Users who are viewing this thread

KRS121006

Reaction score
Hey all,
I have a 1960 American Standard ("Standard") toilet - Number inside says 4033. Its leaking water into the bowl. I've been told by various people that I need to replace the guts, but it doesn't seem like I can find parts. Others have told me its the small black ring seal that is at the bottom of the tank that is leaking. So, my question is what should I do? A guy at a box store told me that I could replace the entire thing with a Fluidmaster 400akr Complete Toilet Repair Kit, yet I don't want to go to all that work if its not needed. I know I would have to figure out if this ring is a threaded or one that simply pushes on, however, is there a place that will sell me the replacement part? Finally, I guess I'd need to know how to replace either one when I figure out what exactly I need. This is my first time posting and I appreciate your patience. Trying to save a little money for the wife and my family, but, I don't want to get in over my head.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
American Standard had at least two different flush mechanisms at that time. One was a "tower" that lifted up to flush the bowl, the other tilted. Which style, or a different one, do you have. There is seldom any need to do a "complete" replacement. Just a fill valve and a seal are all that usually have to be done. The "ring seal" at the bottom has nothing to do with leakage into the toilet, but would be a factor if it were leaking onto the floor.

KRS121006

Reaction score
hj,