Unlacquered brass

Users who are viewing this thread

Mirilla

Reaction score
Hello Newbie here. I am building a brand new, 300-year olde English country-informed house and think I want unlacquered plumbing fixtures that will go verdigris over time. Does anyone know of a line that would meet all my needs -- kitchen, bath, shower, powder room -- and where unlacquered is a consistent option? Truth to tell I am feeling utterly overwhelmed by the number of manufacturers out there, much less with their myriad options.

Thanks much.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
You have to search. There is one company, and the name escapes me right now, that states that their faucets will change appearance over time. Most use the laquer so they can advertise a "lifetime" finish without developing a patina. It think you will find that the discoloration will be very random, and maybe NOT the result you are looking for.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
There is a large variation in the alloy used by companies. You could expect something made in China ( including perhaps some foo-foo brands like Danze or St. Thomas) to be made of "trash-brass". The patination of such materials will be variable and unpredictable.

Mirilla

Reaction score
Heavens! You mean brass isn't necessarily brass? Hmm. Perhaps that's where the phrase solid brass comes in; I do see that here and there. I was scared away by Rohl's BEAUTIFUL shower unit when I learned it runs $5,000 . . . doubtless largely because it's solid brass. :(

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Solid brass is one thing. What, or how, the brass is made is what differs. The $5,000.00 price has NOTHING to do with anything other than what they think people will pay for them. In fact, many "$2,000.00" faucets are nothing other than a $100.00 faucet with "custom" handles and trim pieces. Usually even the drain assembly is from the cheapr faucet.

Mirilla

Reaction score