Replacing old cast iron elbow in wall. How do I fix this?

Users who are viewing this thread

thundercat

Reaction score
Hi guys. I am not a professional plumber, must say that up front. And I was trying to remove corroded pipe going into the elbow, but the pipe broke off inside the elbow. I was thinking that it would be easier to just replace the elbow rather than attempt to get the pipe out of the elbow. I've tried to wrench out the elbow but either there's nowhere to grasp it, or I don't have the proper tool. I tried loosening the elbow w/ wd-40 and a hammer but I was only able to move it slightly. I need to get this elbow off; and I'm not sure what to do at this point. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Photos included. Thanks!

SH.

Attachments

• DCP02271.jpg
    DCP02271.jpg
    39.3 KB · Views: 1,982
  • DCP02270.jpg
    DCP02270.jpg
    49.4 KB · Views: 1,814

Krow

Plumber
Reaction score
You can try heating up the fitting only and then try turning it, or you can try smaking the fitting at the hub with a 2 hammers. I hammer stays stationary behind the fitting and the other hammer to hit it from the opposite side.

It looks like space may be an issue

Attachments

• DCP02270.jpg
    DCP02270.jpg
    51.2 KB · Views: 1,833

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score