PDA

View Full Version : water softener is not pumping water into brine tank.



crabby
01-20-2010, 02:27 PM
water softener has stopped pumping water into brine tank. all brine has been removed from the brine tank by the softener unit. there is only dry salt in the brine tank now. what happened Terry?
thanks
wi

Gary Slusser
01-20-2010, 02:42 PM
If you have a float in the salt tank, make sure it is not stuck in the up position; that shuts off water flow into the tank.

Or you could have a blocked screen filter inside either end of the brine line if you have a screen. Or the screen by the injector or the injector or its throat could be blocked. Or the brine line flow control button could be blocked etc. etc..

What brand of softener do you have, or what brand of control valve do you have? If you don't know describe the face in detail as if I was blind and you wanted me to know what it looked like. Or, post a picture.

Skip Wolverton
01-20-2010, 03:27 PM
Some unit are set to "fill first" so the brine level will be about 1' from the bottom.

Akpsdvan
01-20-2010, 08:31 PM
Brand of unit?
Kind of unit?